Destruction… milestones… and The Best Chocolate Bundt Cake Ever

So the ‘every-so-often’ non-napping day has turned into the ‘rarely do my daughters nap at all’ day.  They’ve taken to some rather interesting antics whilst confined to their room for a couple of hours of “rest”.  I walked in to this one afternoon last week:

Yes, that is the curtain rod and YES two of the anchored brackets have been PULLED OUT OF THE WALL.  Do I have little girls or little monkeys?  M fessed up to pulling, hanging and likely swinging from the curtains.  When asked why she just grinned at me.  This was after having been in “rest time” for a couple of hours, and after my little mama-freaking-out-tirade over the curtains (I know, pointless – they’re only three) both of my munchkins suddenly became all tuckered out and practically passed out in their beds.

The following day, and totally unrelated, I decided to finally nip in the bud the long standing pacifier attachment that I’ve been dragging my feet over for a good couple of months.  The week of their third birthday back in August, we worked on dropping the paci (or as it’s fondly referred to around these parts – the “bahboo”) during nap time.  To say it was difficult is an understatement; potty training was easier than this.  And it honestly felt like infant sleep training all over again, only this time with very strong-willed and opinionated little ones, who were quite frankly pissed off that I was taking away their security.  After that week or so of hell I was in no hurry to finish the job and ditch the bahboos altogether.  I talked to them about it a lot and always with the disclaimer of “maybe tonight will be our last night of bahboos” but never put my money where my mouth was until last week.  I gave them a brief warning the night before and come morning we made a little ceremony out of it immediately after they woke up, complete with homemade pouches to ship their bahboos off to cousin Zalyn – because she’s a baby, and only babies use pacis.

Gotta love the bedhead!

At the post office, ready to mail the bahboos to cousin Zalyn.

And last but most certainly not least, the Hubs celebrated the big 3-7 last week.  We did a family dinner out at a local Italian restaurant, and then back home for birthday cake and candles.  While I try to not eat cake too often, I’m always up for an excuse to bake one and I don’t mess around with some light or low-fat version.  Bring on the butter and sugar.  I decided on this recipe from one of my favorite go-to sites for high-quality baking, Joy the Baker.  She refers to this cake as the Best Chocolate Bundt Cake Ever and by god she’s right.  I think he thought so too.

“It’s glorious!”

We’ve been chipping away at that cake every couple of nights over movies and DVR’ed television shows, and as it will soon be my undoing I plan to promptly slice and freeze the remaining two-thirds of a cake’s worth tomorrow.  Just so I can open the freezer and stare it down every so often.

Leave a comment