Vacation catch-up #1: You lost me at “bush hoggin’”

I’m currently in the middle of vacation withdrawal after getting my long-awaited family fix in Gulf Shores last week with the Hubs’ family – Nanny and Papa, all six siblings, respective spouses and lots of kiddos.  The girls experienced their first plane trip when we left Saturday morning, and helped to conquer my own personal nerves about over newly potty-trained preschoolers with fears of public bathrooms.  They totally rocked it, and the promise of an ice cream award for dry undies at the end of the day didn’t hurt either.

Our first day of vacay was marked by a dip in the pool by all.  We had just gotten in and I saw a panicked look on the Hubs’ face.  As he grabbed for his wedding ring that was left in the pocket of his swim shorts I said “oh, I thought maybe you left your phone in your pocket.”  To which he reached into the other pocket and tossed his soaked iPhone out of the pool.  Oh. Sh*t.  I seriously thought by the look on his face that he was going to vomit.  No joke.  He’ll likely hate me for saying this but it was probably the best thing that could’ve happened to him.  This is a man who is phenomenally committed to his job (and for which I’m so, so very proud of him) but in turn he’s also seriously committed to that phone.  Its unintended dip in the shallow end forced him to unplug for the week.  Hallelujah!

So what do you do with a soaked iPhone?  Bury it in a bag of rice and let the rice help to suck the moisture out.

Day two involved a little trip into town to the AT&T store, where a very nice southern gentlemen confirmed that the rice trick was the way to go to at least try to dry it out to maybe salvage some data.  He also reviewed our options to get a new phone, showed us a waterproof and sand proof case and then enlightened us on how well that super-duper case works for him when he goes out “bush hoggin'” on his two acres.

Excuse me, what?  Um yeah, you lost me.

Come to find out that “bush hoggin'” (also referred to as “brush” hoggin’, per my brother-in-law) apparently involves a tractor/mower apparatus with a large blade, the ability to hack down even small trees and an end result of not having to mow as much.  See, you really do learn something new every day – even on vacation.  And we did walk out of there WITHOUT a new phone.  The Hubs held out all week with just a few peeks at the iPad and a new phone was waiting for him at his office when we got back.  Well done, my dear.

One thought on “Vacation catch-up #1: You lost me at “bush hoggin’”

Leave a comment